[MSW] Another successful Consultative Assembly + GMM

Consultative Assembly of the Academic Community and General Membership Meeting concluded


PSITE-NCR chapter is especially grateful to have the active and munificent participation of the institutional members in the recently concluded ” PSITE-NCR 8th Consultative Assembly and General Membership Meeting”  held on July 10, 2014 at Club Intramuros, Bonifacio Drive cor Aduana St., Port Area, Intramuros, Manila. ”  This activity proved to be successful with over one hundred participants attended. Sensing a broader interest than they initially expected, most of those who attended are administrators, deans, chairpersons, and faculty members.


The prayer led by Ms. Rose Cornejo, PSITE-NCR secretary, invoked God’s blessing on the proceedings to start the formalities. This was followed by an audio visual presentation of the National Anthem.  The welcoming Remarks were delivered by Dr. Samuel Chua, executive vice president of PSITE-NCR.  Ms. Ma. Carmela Racelis, president of PSITE-NCR, acknowledged the presence of the institutional representatives. She also reported about the accomplishments of the organization last school year 2013-2014. She recognized the effort exerted by the previous board members, who contributed to the success of these endeavors.


After the presentation of Ms. Racelis, the induction ceremony followed. The newly elected set of officers for school year 2014-2015 was called to go in front for the said undertaking. They are as follows:


President:  Ms. Ma. Carmela M. Racelis, Adamson University
Vice President: Dr. Samuel Chua, Lyceum of the Philippines University – Manila
Secretary: Ms. Rosemarie M. Coronejo, Far Eastern University
Treasurer: Dr. Lilian J. Gumban, FEU – East Asia College
Auditor: Mr. Rejan L. Tadeo, Lyceum of the Philippines University – Manila
Ways and Means: Ms. Jovy L. Factor, Asia Pacific College – Makati
Faculty Development: Dr. Raymond Macatangga, Our Lady of Fatima University – Valenzuela
Membership: Mr. Avonn Nova, TechFactors


Zonal Directors:
CAMANAVA/QC: Mr. Rosauro E. Manuel, Trinity University of Asia
Eastern Manila: Dr. Milani M. Austria, Jose Rizal University
Central Manila: Ms. Jasmin Niguidula, Technological Institute of the Philippines
Southern Manila: Dr. Maria Teresa N. Pancho, Arellano University


The foregoing officers were inducted by Dr. Rex Calingasan, PSITE VP-Luzon


Ms. Jasmin Niguidula, zonal director for Central Manila, and the high spirited emcee introduced the indefatigable speaker, Mr. Jonathan Caballero. The latter is the current chairperson of the computer science department in TIP-Manila, and the vice president-Internal of PSITE National.


Mr. Caballero shared the PSITE National’s benchmarking experience with the selected universities in Indonesia, Hongkong, and Singapore. He said that they were impressed about the school facilities, and the collaborative research projects conducted by the teachers and students in Universitas Multimeda Nusantra, German Swiss International School, Binus University, Hongkong University of Science and Technology, Hongkong Institute of Engineers, National University of Singapore, and Nanyang Polytechnic School.


He also mentioned about the significance of SEOUL Accord as a multi-lateral agreement among agencies responsible for accreditation or recognition of tertiary level computing and IT-related qualifications. Further, he spoke with emphasis on the role of PICAB in accreditation. He said that PICAB was founded by four computing and IT organizations with wide professional membership, namely, the Philippine Computer Society (PCS), as the lead organization, the Computing Society of the Philippines (CSP ), the Philippines Society of IT Educators (PSITE), and the Philippine Software Industry Alliance (PSIA). He explained that PICAB will use Dynamic Accreditation Base for IT Education (DYNABITE) System. The system establishes standards by computing and IT related professionals for Outcome-Based Educational programs in HEIs for quality assurance of entry-level professionals.  Moreover, he stressed that the system is substantially equivalent to the system used by the signatories of SEOUL Accord.


Dr. Bartolome Tanguilig III, Associate VPAA and Dean of College of ITE TIP-QC and CHED-TPITE officer, gave the participants an overview of ASEAN and some of its challenges on the road to regional integration in 2015.He also updated the participants about the various activities and programs of CHED TPITE.


Dr. Milani Austria , zonal director for Eastern Manila highlighted that PSITE-NCR will bestow prestigious awards to its deserving members. She announced the mechanics, and qualifications for the Most Outstanding IT Educator, Most Outstanding Individual Member, and Most Outstanding Institutional Member.


There would never have been such a positive response from the attendees if not for the generous support of the corporate sponsors. As a way of thanking them each of its representatives were given fifteen minutes to introduce their company, and update the participants about the latest technology they offer. These include Tech Factors Inc. and Headstart Business Solution, Power Mac Center, TRI.ph, Cosmotech, Converge Inc, and ATI. These companies demonstrated the power of listening by throwing questions to the participants about the highlights of their company, and product lines in exchange of exciting items.


Ms. Haifa Carina Baluyos of Developers Connect Philippines (DevCon) was also invited to speak before the participants and promote the “IT Pinoy Talent” and their upcoming activities. The complete details can be viewed at their website http://devcon.ph/.


Another recipient of nice-looking item from the sponsors, who received the Early-Bird Participant award, went to Mr. Melquiadez Gerez of La Consolacion – Novaliches.


The traditional part of the closing ceremony is the Closing remarks delivered by Dr. Lilian Gumban, PSITE-NC treasurer followed by the distribution of the certificate of attendance to the participants. Mr. Caballero was also given a certificate of recognition and a simple token of appreciation for being the resource speaker.


– Contributed by Ms. Jovy L. Factor, PSITE-NCR Ways and Means